Get Rec’d Mysteries on Sale!


  • Portrait of a Thief

    Portrait of a Thief by Grace D. Li

    Portrait of a Thief by Grace D. Li is $4.99! As I was putting today’s sale list together with a focus on mysteries, I realized all of these have been mention in my Get Rec’d posts. However, I’d describe this one as more fiction with some heisty, Ocean’s Eleven undertones.

    Ocean’s Eleven meets The Farewell in Portrait of a Thief, a lush, lyrical heist novel inspired by the true story of Chinese art vanishing from Western museums; about diaspora, the colonization of art, and the complexity of the Chinese American identity.

    History is told by the conquerors. Across the Western world, museums display the spoils of war, of conquest, of colonialism: priceless pieces of art looted from other countries, kept even now.

    Will Chen plans to steal them back.

    A senior at Harvard, Will fits comfortably in his carefully curated roles: a perfect student, an art history major and sometimes artist, the eldest son who has always been his parents’ American Dream. But when a mysterious Chinese benefactor reaches out with an impossible—and illegal—job offer, Will finds himself something else as well: the leader of a heist to steal back five priceless Chinese sculptures, looted from Beijing centuries ago.

    His crew is every heist archetype one can imag­ine—or at least, the closest he can get. A con artist: Irene Chen, a public policy major at Duke who can talk her way out of anything. A thief: Daniel Liang, a premed student with steady hands just as capable of lockpicking as suturing. A getaway driver: Lily Wu, an engineering major who races cars in her free time. A hacker: Alex Huang, an MIT dropout turned Silicon Valley software engineer. Each member of his crew has their own complicated relationship with China and the identity they’ve cultivated as Chinese Americans, but when Will asks, none of them can turn him down.

    Because if they succeed? They earn fifty million dollars—and a chance to make history. But if they fail, it will mean not just the loss of everything they’ve dreamed for themselves but yet another thwarted at­tempt to take back what colonialism has stolen.

    Equal parts beautiful, thoughtful, and thrilling, Portrait of a Thief is a cultural heist and an examination of Chinese American identity, as well as a necessary cri­tique of the lingering effects of colonialism.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as
    well. Thanks!

  • Peg and Rose Solve a Murder

    Peg and Rose Solve a Murder by Laurien Berenson

    Peg and Rose Solve a Murder by Laurien Berenson is $3.99! If you’re on the “senior sleuths” train, maybe pick this one up!

    Murder, She Wrote meets The Golden Girls in the award-winning author’s brand-new series! Two cantankerous septuagenarians, opposites in every way, put aside their differences to stop a killer… if they don’t throttle each other first!

    Rose Donovan looks for the good in everyone. With her sister-in-law, Peg, that sometimes requires a lot of searching. Even a sixty-something former nun like Rose has her limits, and gruff Peg Turnbull sure knows how to push them. But after forty years of bickering, they’re attempting to start over, partnering up to join the local bridge club.

    Peg and Rose barely have a chance to celebrate their first win before one of the club’s most accomplished players is killed in his home. As the newest members, the sisters-in-law come under scrutiny and decide to start some digging of their own. Bridge is typically seen as a wholesome pastime, yet this group of senior citizens harbors a wealth of vices, including gambling, cheating, and adultery . . .

    By comparison, Peg and Rose’s fractious relationship is starting to feel almost functional. But as their suspect list narrows, they’re unaware that their logic has a dangerous flaw. And they’ll have to hope that their teamwork holds steady when they’re confronted by a killer who’s through with playing games . . .

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as
    well. Thanks!

  • The Raven Spell

    The Raven Spell by Luanne Smith

    The Raven Spell by Luanne G. Smith is $2.49 at Amazon! This is book one in a series that seems to combine fantasy, mystery, and historical settings. Did any of you read it?

    In Victorian England a witch and a detective are on the hunt for a serial killer in an enthralling novel of magic and murder.

    After a nearly fatal blow to the skull, traumatized private detective Ian Cameron is found dazed and confused on a muddy riverbank in Victorian London. Among his effects: a bloodstained business card bearing the name of a master wizard and a curious pocket watch that doesn’t seem to tell time. To retrieve his lost memories, Ian demands answers from Edwina and Mary Blackwood, sister witches with a murky past. But as their secret is slowly unveiled, a dangerous mystery emerges on the darkened streets of London.

    To help piece together Ian’s lost time, he and Edwina embark on a journey that will take them from the river foreshore to an East End music hall, and on to a safe house for witches in need of sanctuary from angry mortals. The clues they find suggest a link between a series of gruesome murders, a missing person’s case, and a dreadful suspicion that threatens to tear apart the bonds of sisterhood. As the investigation deepens, could Ian and Edwina be the next to die?

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:
    • Available at Amazon
    • Barnes & Noble

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as
    well. Thanks!

  • A Botanist’s Guide to Parties and Poisons

    A Botanist’s Guide to Parties and Poisons by Kate Khavari

    A Botanist’s Guide to Parties and Poisons by Kate Khavari is $1.99! I mentioned this in Get Rec’d for all of you historical mystery lovers out there. It’s set in 1920s London with a research assistant heroine!

    Saffron Everleigh is in a race against time to free her wrongly accused professor before he goes behind bars forever. Perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn and Anna Lee Huber, Kate Khavari’s debut historical mystery is a fast-paced, fearless adventure.

    London, 1923. Newly minted research assistant Saffron Everleigh attends a dinner party for the University College of London. While she expects to engage in conversations about the university’s large expedition to the Amazon, she doesn’t expect Mrs. Henry, one of the professors’ wives to drop to the floor, poisoned by an unknown toxin.

    Dr. Maxwell, Saffron’s mentor, is the main suspect, having had an explosive argument with Dr. Henry a few days prior. As evidence mounts against Dr. Maxwell and the expedition’s departure draws nearer, Saffron realizes if she wants her mentor’s name cleared, she’ll have to do it herself.

    Joined by enigmatic Alexander Ashton, a fellow researcher, Saffron uses her knowledge of botany as she explores steamy greenhouses, dark gardens, and deadly poisons. Will she be able to uncover the truth or will her investigation land her on the murderer’s list?

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as
    well. Thanks!



  • Source link

    About The Author

    Scroll to Top